Checking for understanding

I like to think of myself as an organised person who strives for perfection and the best learning opportunities for the students. However, it is always difficult when you discover your planning wasn’t perfect and there were flaws in your lesson delivery. But, tomorrows a new day and you just have to go into next lesson taking on board what the mentor said to try and reconfigure the students understanding. This was the case for myself in one instance when I discovered mid-lesson I didn’t give my explanation and discussion the weight it deserved for the students to gain the full picture.

This was the first instance when I discovered just how vital a visual representation is for the students. Which is really quite obvious as I am one of the most visual learners I know. The momentary slip of judgement meant students were still producing the lesson objective to a high standard, however the further explanation and display of an example is indeed so necessary.Furthermore the school I attended has a funky tool called show-me-boards which is a quick and useful way to gauge student understanding, engage them in questioning and answer strategies and always has full involvement. I think the momentary get-away from their books is refreshing and establishes knowledge of their learning, which furthermore emphasises my teaching and learning strategies I put into place with my classes.

For further development of lesson plans – take a further look at this article for inspiration. Abi’s blog also highlights her struggle with not getting every lesson PERFECT.

Leave a Reply

